WHO WAS MARTIN Luther king, jr.?
Martin Luther King, Jr. was a reverend, a civil rights activist, a peacemaker. He was not a king nor the President nor in the military. Find out who he was by exploring the resources at Caldwell Library. See for yourself why he won the Nobel Peace Prize and why we celebrate his legacy with a national holiday.
I’ve Seen the Promised Land: The Life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
by Walter Dean Myers
B Kin Mye
Dr. King was a civil rights advocate who strongly believed in nonviolence. This biography tells the story of American unrest during Martin Luther King, Jr.’s life with beautiful illustrations. It is a tribute to Dr. King as a man, leader and father.
Martin Luther King, Jr.
by Christy DeVillier
B Kin DeV
The table of contents is so helpful in this biography. The reader will gain specific information about Dr. King’s life and accomplishments to end segregation. Martin Luther King, Jr. is described as an American hero in this book and supporting facts are provided.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Man of Peace
by Patricia and Frederick McKissack
B Kin McK
The author focuses on the events that led to Dr. King receiving the Nobel Peace Prize for his advocacy of nonviolence. He was a powerful leader and speaker who consistently reminded his supporters that violence was not the answer.
My Brother Martin: A Sister Remembers Growing up with Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
by Christine King Farris
B Kin Far
Written by Martin’s sister, this biography looks firsthand at the life of Martin. His sister tells stories about pranks that they played. She talks about what it was like to grow up as an African American in Atlanta and how Martin always had big dreams. He told his mom that “one day I’m going to turn this world upside-down.”
What’s So Great About…? Martin Luther King, Jr.
by KaaVonia Hinton
B Kin Hin
This book is divided into five chapters that give details about the civil rights movement, Martin’s childhood, his time as a preacher, the Montgomery bus boycott and his work as a civil rights activist. There is a chronology of his life as well as his efforts in the timeline of the United States of America.
Civil Rights Crusaders Martin Luther King, Jr.
by Barbara M. Linde
B Kin Lin
This book highlights the life and accomplishments of the civil rights leader and Baptist minister. There are great photos included and “Let Freedom Ring” facts at the bottom of each page. This book also includes a timeline of Dr. King’s life.
Macmillan Dictionary for Children R 423 Mac
Scholastic Children’s Dictionary R 423 Sch
Merriam Webster Primary Dictionary 423 Mer
Merriam Webster Children’s Dictionary R 423 Dk
The McGraw-Hill Children’s Dictionary R 423 McG
Webster’s New World Children’s Dictionary 2nd Ed. 423 Web
The World Book Student Dictionary R 423 Or
The American Heritage Student Thesaurus R 423.1 Hel
Scholastic Student Thesaurus R 423.1 Bol
First Thesaurus 423.1 Bea
Roget’s Children’s Thesaurus 423.1 Rog
Simon and Schuster Thesaurus for Children R 423.1 Sim
Tennessee Electronic Library
TEL4U is a galaxy of ebooks, homework helpers and games and activities brought to you by the Tennessee Electronic Library (especially for students from Kindergarten to Fifth Grade).
Kid’s Info Bits
An exciting database designed especially for beginning researchers in kindergarten through grade 5.
(Accessible only through Caldwell Computer Lab)
WORLD BOOK ONLINE
World Book Encyclopedia offers encyclopedia books, online encyclopedia, and many other free learning resources for kids and your family.
WORLD BOOK FOR KIDS
World Book Kids is the premier reference website developed especially for young students. It features an intuitive user interface, thousands of easy-to-read articles packed with stunning illustrations, videos, interactive maps, and a wealth of engaging games and activities.